To My Mum

FB_20160509_16_08_15_Saved_PictureYesterday was Mother’s Day in Australia. I am not a mother, but I am blessed to have lots of mothers in my life, including my beautiful, amazing mum Vivienne. I might be biased, but she is THE best mum in the whole entire world! I spent the day yesterday with my beautiful mum, and my equally beautiful sister Emma, and mother in law June. We all had a lovely day together doing mum’s day type stuff!!

The definition of “mother” is someone who creates, nurtures and protects. You don’t have to have given birth or be a biological mother to fit this definition. There are so many amazing women and mother figures out there including aunties, step-mums, godmothers, foster mums, mums of fur babies, teachers and friends. Happy mother’s day to all of you too!

I wanted to use this opportunity to finally write a blog post for my mum. I’ve been wanting to do this for a while, but to be honest was a bit overwhelmed as there are so many things I want to say about her and to her, and I want to make sure I do this justice!

So this one is for you mum!

Dearest mum,

You are my role model, and always have been. You brought Emma and I up to be strong, independent women, with inquisitive minds and a worldly nature, just like you. You encourage us and support us in everything we do. You know exactly the right thing to say if we are afraid or upset, and you know when you don’t need to say anything at all and just a hug will do. You know when to hold us tight but also when to let go.  

Of course we’ve argued and don’t always agree on everything. You can be stubborn and sometimes you drive us completely nuts, but we still love you!

You have the most precious heart and soul of anyone I know (and I’m not just saying that!). You have so much love and always put others first (hmmmm I wonder where I get that from?!). We are very alike, and I know I get some of my bad habits (like being a worry wart and over thinker) from you, but I also inherited some of my better qualities from you too 🙂

When I got Crohn’s disease you came to every doctor’s appointment, every hospital procedure (big or small), every scan, every infusion. I told you that you didn’t have to and I would be fine, but you wouldn’t hear otherwise! I am so glad you were there.

Every symptom, every bit of bad news, every failed medication, every accident, every tear, every bit of pain, you and Mikey were there and it was almost as if it was happening to you. You could feel it too. I hated putting you both through that.  

You sat by my hospital bed for hours and kept me company at home when I was too sick to go out. We read, did jigsaws, crosswords, watched tv or chatted. Although not under the best circumstances, I cherish that time we spent together, even though I know I wasn’t always the easiest to get along with.

You dropped everything for me when I was sick. You cooked for me, cleaned for me, did the grocery shopping for me. I worried about you a lot. You were tired, worried, stressed, always looking after me instead of yourself. Mikey was there doing all of that too, and you were such a support to him, emotionally as well. I love the relationship that you two have, and I love that you were there for each other when I couldn’t be.

That first Easter when I was really sick at Dinjalla I remember you saying that you wished you were sick instead of me. I shook my head and shed a tear. I would not want that. I understand how hard it must have been for you, but don’t ever wish that. I read this quote on a website a few years ago and it made me think of you. “I know the despair that comes with watching someone you love suffer and the desperate desire to take it all away.” We all have to deal with what we are dealt, and you helped me deal with mine. That was what you needed to do, and that is what you did, and I am forever eternally thankful that you were there to help me get through.

I am so glad those days are over, and I need you to know how grateful I am. I really don’t know what Mikey and I would have done without you.  

There is so much more I want to say, but I hope you know how much you mean to me mum, and how much I love you. I am so lucky and blessed to have you as my mum. You are my #1 fan on Stoma-licious as I am your #1 fan in life!

Lum

Laura xoxo

 

2 thoughts on “To My Mum

  1. Oh my goodness! For once I have no words to express how this post makes me feel. Only know that I love you and that I will always be your #1 fan (on Stoma-licious and in every other context too) no matter what. It is I who am so blessed; I merely reflect the love and goodness in you. Thank you sweetheart. I love you so much xxxooo 💜💜💜

    Like

Leave a Reply

