Guest post: Where in the World is Luciana’s stoma?!

IMG_20200909_161349Luciana came in second place in the “Where in the world is my stoma?” quiz earlier this year. Here is a guest post she wrote about some of her travel experiences, her love of travel, food and hiking, and how an ostomy has not held her back from doing things she loves.

Thanks Luciana and congrats again 🙂

I love traveling and traveling has been my passion since I was in my early 20s, which means a long time ago…hahaha!

I also love different types of foods and photographing, but I guess I’ve got to learn different foods because I have been in contact with different cultures. Taking pictures for me is a good way to register the moments and remember where I’ve been during my trips. I have been to many places in different countries, and everywhere there’s something unique to learn and remember about.

Unfortunately due to Crohn’s disease I had to postpone or even cancel some trips, but in general I never let the disease prevent me from doing things that I love. I have funny stories about some episodes where I was desperate for a toilet while traveling, I could write a book about my experiences.

In 2016 my life changed completely when I got my permanent ostomy. At first I thought that I would never be able to travel and do things again, but I was wrong and  the ostomy gave more opportunities to enjoy my life.

We moved countries in 2018, started living in California where we travelled extensively throughout the State of California as well as other states nearby. In Yosemite I did my first strenuous hike which was a great achievement for me, so I didn’t  stop! I carried on, and hiking through the Grand Canyon was a dream come true. Swimming in the cold waters of Lake Tahoe was an indescribable  experience. The thrill in my entire body after the first dive in the freezing water was simply amazing and unforgettable. So a world of new possibilities  was opened after my ostomy and traveling certainly is part of it. 00000IMG_00000_BURST20200719133127721_COVER

Last December we moved to the UK for good due to my husband’s work. We had planned to travel to many countries specially during Easter and Summer Holiday.

But life is unpredictable, life has its own pace, life surprises us in an unexpected way and Covid19 arrived to change the world completely and everyone’s life. With the outbreak of coronavirus we were obliged to stay inside our houses to protect ourselves and others doing the lock down. Plans were postponed, without knowing when we will be able to travel again. Lives changed completely and made us reflect on what really matters, the priorities,  and the importance of praise for the small things in life. Freedom became a luxury.

When Laura  from Stoma-licious decided to launch the ‘Where in the world is my Stoma’ competition during the Coronavirus pandemic, I thought ‘what a great idea’ especially  during these uncertain times,  spreading awareness  and showing people that having an ostomy doesn’t prevent us doing things nor traveling , so I decided to enter the competition, to enjoy and learn about other places. It was indeed a brilliant idea and very generous to give some prizes in partnership with some sponsors for those who won the competition.

Laura has been traveling around the world and she has been always spreading awareness of IBD, inspiring others through her travel posts with an ostomy. I admire her for being such a brave and empowering lady. I’ve started following her account on Instagram when I knew that I would be an ostomate for the rest of my life. I am really thankful for her support during my difficult times and I also can say that she also inspired me to carry on with my travels.

It had been 3 weeks of competition in 3 rounds. What I wasn’t expecting was that I would end up in 2nd place! So I am really happy and glad to be one of the winners. I can say that during this moment where I was taking the quiz it made me dream again that one day I will travel to some places again. I can’t wait to wear  my prizes from @vanillablush @ lonelyplanet and use my scratch map.

0_IMG_20181017_162903_141
Luciana is married, mom of two teenage boys. She loves traveling, cooking, taking pictures, walking, hiking and being in contact with nature. 

She has been dealing with the ups and downs of Crohn’s disease for 30 years and in 2016 she became a permanent ostomate.

You can follow her on Facebook and Instagram @meandmrcrohn

Other articles by Luciana
Stoma Tips – Crossing Continents (travelling the world with a stoma)
Ostomy Connection: An ostomy for better or worse? It all depends on your perspective

Leave a comment