A new consultant and an MRI

After over 8 months living in London, I finally met my new Consultant Gastroenterologist for the first time just a few weeks ago. I saw an IBD nurse back in March (who was great) but this was the first time meeting the consultant.

20170803_120508I have such a good relationship and history with both my gastroenterologist and colorectal surgeon back home in Australia that I was quite apprehensive about meeting anyone new. It takes time to build trust with a doctor. Almost 8 years of clinic visits, numerous colonoscopies, hospital stays and two surgeries means they know me pretty well (inside and out!!) and I have so much trust and respect for them. What would this new doctor be like? What if I didn’t like his “bedside manner”? What if he wanted to change my treatment plan?

I was also nervous as when I’d seen the IBD nurse in March, she had suggested that it was a good idea to consider having an ileoscopy and small bowel MRI (just for peace of mind), so I knew that this would come up at my next consultation. I said I’d think about it, but pretty quickly I’d come to the conclusion that I was feeling great, had no symptoms and in my mind, had decided that I’d rather not start prodding and poking for no reason. Leave well enough alone as they say!

I had absolutely no need to be apprehensive about meeting my new consultant! He was great! From the moment he introduced himself, I could tell I was going to like him. We chatted easily as we walked to his office. He had clearly read my file and knew my history which was a good start. I realise the most important thing about a doctor is their medical knowledge and that they know what they’re doing in terms of treatment, but getting along and a likeable personality certainly helps too!!! He was lovely and put me at ease right away.

200_sHe understood exactly how I felt about having an MRI or ileoscopy and leaving well enough alone. He even said that he understood how frightening the prospect must be. He also assured me that even though he’s not expecting to see anything, if there was something, it would be better to catch it earlier rather than later. I acknowledged that he was probably right. He even made a very good point about burying my head in the sand, which I can’t deny was exactly what I was doing. It has been almost 4 years since anyone looked anywhere near that area, and yes, of course I am scared about the ‘what ifs’ but it seems the sensible thing to do. What’s the point of looking the other way, when I don’t even know whether there’s anything to be looking away from? It’s just my own (hopefully unnecessary and unwarranted) fear, but surely it can’t do any harm. So, on that note I have decided to put on a brave face and I am going to have an MRI of my small bowel.

We agreed that an MRI is sufficient, and there is no need to have an ileoscopy at this point (which is a bit more invasive). Let’s leave an ileoscopy for if (hopefully not when) it’s absolutely necessary.

Apart from that, we also discussed my white blood count being low. As the levels of Azathioprine in my blood were on the upper end of the spectrum, he advised on reducing my Azathioprine dose down from 150 to 125mg a day. Being an immunosuppressant, obviously the Azathioprine will reduce my white blood cell count, but it’s important not to supress my immune system too much! It’s about finding the right balance. I got some repeat blood tests including B12, as he suggested B12 injections may be an option as they help strengthen the immune system.

I’m booked to see the IBD nurse in 3 months and then the Doctor again in 6 months’ time Being an IBD clinic with multiple Consultants, he did warn me that it may not be him I see next time, but I hope it is!

7eb94f1925005efbf4abd0ed983141ef--crohns-awareness-crohns-diseaseI called the hospital today and my MRI is confirmed for the 10th of October so not too far away. I’m trying not to think about it, but in a way, I just want to have it over and done with now! I know it’s in the back of my mind because the other night I had a nightmare in which all my Crohn’s symptoms had returned. I haven’t had a dream or felt those feelings in years, and I woke up in a sweat and with that horrible feeling in the pit of my stomach. I know it’s just my subconscious, and there’s no point worrying about it. Some of you are probably thinking “It’s just an MRI, what’s the big deal” right?! I know it’s not a big deal, but a chronic illness is a chronic illness so of course those fears still float around from time to time, which I’m sure many of you can relate to. I’ve been in remission since my surgery, and I’d like to stay that way!

Despite all that that, I feel good about how the appointment went. In the meantime, I know what gets me through is staying positive and trying not to worry (easier said than done in my case)! Most importantly I feel really well and that’s what matters, and I am confident that that’s what the MRI will show too. I will post another update in October 😊

Thanks for listening,
Laura

 

4 thoughts on “A new consultant and an MRI

  1. I can sympathize. I do not have Crohn’s but recently had an ER visit with stomach pain. If I did not have a colostomy I would have just taken more Tums but since I do and the pain went on for more than 12 hours I thought it best to get it checked out. I did have a stomach upset but not a blockage. So all the best for your MRI. When nothing turns up you can celebrate!! Keep us posted.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment