The diary of me and my little guy in lockdown **Exercise**

Up until last Wednesday in the UK we could only go out for one hour of exercise each day. With restrictions slightly lifted over the last week, this has now been increased to unlimited exercise. I don’t go out every day, but if I can I try to take a nice long walk around the neighbourhood or one of the local parks at least 3-4 times per week. There are so many people out and about having their daily walk, run or cycle, so I try to time my walk to when it’s a bit quieter. It’s interesting seeing the etiquette of everyone making way for each other. I try to stick to the wider footpaths or side streets when I can. I usually head off with no specific route planned and plot it out as I go depending on which streets look busy and where the sunshine is! 🚶‍♀️🧘‍♀️🚶‍♀️🧘‍♀️🚶‍♀️🧘‍♀️

I have also been doing tonnes of virtual exercise classes online. I tried a few high intensity (HIIT) classes but they almost killed me, and I was worried all the jumping around would disturb the neighbours or cause the old wooden floorboards to collapse!!! I mainly stick to yoga and Pilates. 🚶‍♀️🧘‍♀️🚶‍♀️🧘‍♀️🚶‍♀️🧘‍♀️

The organisation I work for normally offers staff a Be Active fitness programme onsite, which has been moved online and is completely free. The classes take place live via Zoom and there’s a varied timetable 7 days a week at various times. It’s great! It helps me keep to a routine, and many of the teachers are ones I know from my regular classes, plus I can see colleagues participating in the class at the same time. It makes it more personal and connected and helps keep me motivated! One plus side of this lockdown for me has definitely been an increase in the amount of exercise I’m doing. I may even come out fitter than when it started!! 🚶‍♀️🧘‍♀️🚶‍♀️🧘‍♀️🚶‍♀️🧘‍♀️

Roman RdWe’ve also come across some awesome street art and displays of support on walks around out local area. Heart warming love and support – house windows filled with kids drawings, rainbows and thank yous to the NHS. A stretch of signs outside one of our local parks encouraging and giving thanks to all the key workers out there – NHS staff, bus drivers, post men and women, delivery drivers, supermarket and shop staff, social care workers, garbage men, the list goes on! 🌈🌈🌈🌈 💛💚💙🧡❤️💜

What sort of exercise have you been doing in lockdown? Do you have a regular exercise routine you’ve been sticking to? Seen anything interesting whilst out doing your daily exercise?

Leave a comment