The diary of me and my little guy in lockdown – **travel withdrawals** ✈️✈️✈️

As most of you know, travelling is a huge part of my life. Yesterday I put together these hanging photo collages filled with so many wonderful travel memories, and it really gave me itchy feet! I don’t know about you guys, but I have already had two trips cancelled this year, and I am having major travel withdrawals!

My niece had to cut her 6 month European adventure short and flew back to Australia just before the lockdown. We planned to meet her in Montenegro for Easter and were meant to go to Oslo for the early May bank holiday weekend. Both obviously cancelled. Thankfully my niece had been here for 4 months, but still hugely disappointing for her after saving for almost a year for her big trip.

My family were meant to be flying out from Australia to celebrate my mum’s 70th birthday in Italy this September. Realistically the chances of that happening are slim. We keep telling ourselves we will celebrate in other ways and then when we can eventually celebrate it together in Italy (maybe next year) it will be even sweeter. I still feel heartbroken for my mum as it’s something we have all been planning and looking forward to for so long.

I know it’s not the end of the world, and so many people are in the same boat (or worse), but not having the freedom to travel which we have always taken for granted isn’t easy.

One of the hardest things is that my dad hasn’t been well. I contemplated travelling back to Australia (from the UK). I would love to see my family (especially my dad), but the more I thought about it the more I knew that it wasn’t the sensible thing to do right now. The flight alone would be risky (I only stopped taking immunosuppressants in March so am at a higher risk if I caught anything), plus all arrivals into Australia have to quarantine in a hotel for two weeks before they can even see family. Even after the quarantine period it would be difficult to travel up to where my dad lives across State borders, and obviously there are all the other restrictions still in place. It was a tough decision – my heart said do it, but my head said don’t. It makes me feel further away from home than ever before, which isn’t an easy or comfortable feeling.

I know it’s for the best and these places will still be there to visit once this is all over, but it’s hard not knowing when we will be able to travel normally again.

Who else has had to cancel travel plans? Any trips in the future you are hoping might go ahead? When do you think we’ll be able to travel again? One of the first things I’ll be doing once it’s safe to do so will be plan my next trip!!!

 

Leave a comment